What to Expect at Your Hearing
After a DUI arrest, you have 10 days to request an ALS (Administrative License Suspension) hearing. The request must be submitted in writing, and the hearing itself must take place within 30 days of receipt of the request. If you have been arrested for DUI, it's in your best interest to hire a defense lawyer to represent you at the hearing. Your attorney requests the hearing, schedules it, and speaks on your behalf during the hearing. This hearing gives your attorney the opportunity to present defense evidence that could affect whether or not you lose your license to suspension or revocation.
The hearing has specific items to determine, and these include the following:
- Did the police follow the law and have reasonable ground to suspect you of DUI? Did they legally arrest you per the legal procedure?
- Did you cause an accident involving injury or death?
- Were you informed about your “implied consent” rights in reference to refusing the blood/breath test?
- Did you submit to the test or refuse the test?
- Was a breath or blood test administered? Did your BAC register at .08% or higher (adult), .02% or higher (under 21) or .04% or higher (commercial drivers)?
- Were the tests administered correctly?
At the Law Offices of Richard S. Lawson, the legal team has represented countless clients throughout Georgia at ALS hearings and is very familiar with the procedure and what evidence is needed to increase your chances of saving your license. You can trust one of the skilled Georgia DUI defense lawyers at the firm to use the time prior to the hearing wisely, seeking out any flaw in the case against you. Georgia DUI Lawyer Richard Lawson can help you. Call today to schedule your intial case consultation.