Driving Under the Influence in Georgia
Living with a suspended license can be frustrating and inconvenient, to say the least. Without a license, it will be difficult to get where you need to go every day - whether it be to work, school, doctor appointments, the grocery, or a friend's house. When a license is suspended as a penalty for DUI, it's possible to do something about the situation and regain your ability to drive. If you need help fighting the suspension of your license following a DUI arrest or conviction, please consider contacting an attorney at the Law Offices of Richard S. Lawson for help. Since each case is unique, yours must be fully reviewed in order to determine what action can be taken to assist you. At the firm, our legal team is ready to fight for you.
Georgia Penalties for Drunk Driving
The exact length of your license suspension depends on a variety of factors; namely, your age and your number of prior DUI convictions. For example, underage drivers who are convicted of their first DUI may lose their license for 6 months; 12 months for any subsequent offenses and 12 months for their first DUI if their blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is greater than .08%. If you are more than 21 years old, your license will be suspended for 120 days the first time you are convicted and 18 months for subsequent convictions.
Under certain circumstances, you may be allowed to contest your license suspension and receive a restricted license. For instance, you may be able to apply for a limited permit to drive your vehicle to work, driver to the hospital or doctor's office, attend college classes, attend scheduled sessions or meetings for alcohol or drug treatment, attend driver's education, etc. Additionally, the DDS may limit the places you can travel, specific routs you must take and indicate which vehicles you are allowed to drive.
If you are convicted of any additional offenses after obtaining a limited permit, your limited driving privileges will be revoked. If you believe that your license was suspended unfairly or unlawfully, contact an attorney from the Law Offices of Richard S. Lawson today; we are ready to help you stand up for your rights. Remember: after and arrest, you only have 30 days to schedule an ALS hearing to get your license back. Don't waste any time and call the firm that has helped thousands of clients stay out of jail and keep their driver's licenses.
What happens if I drive on a suspended license in Georgia?
Driving on a suspended license can result in even more severe legal repercussions. While losing your driving privilege is embarrassing and inconvenient, getting pulled over on a suspended license may end in your arrested. Exact penalties vary from state to state, but driving on a suspended license is punishable by six months in jail, depending on the original reason for your suspension.