Marijuana Cases - Georgia DUI Defense

Posted by Richard Lawson | Mar 24, 2012 | 0 Comments

While many parts of the country have legalized marijuana, marijuana remains illegal in Georgia. For small amounts of marijuana (less than one ounce), the charge is a misdemeanor. For amounts of marijuana greater than one ounce, or for distributing or dealing marijuana, the charge is a felony. Even for a misdemeanor, first time marijuana offense, the penalty in Georgia can be severe. Under Georgia law, a first marijuana offense carries with it a 6 months driver's license suspension with no limited permits available.

This law applies even if the offense has nothing to do with DUI - driving under the influence of marijuana. The law is harsh, but the suspension can be prevented. It is important to speak to a DUI lawyer as soon as possible to get the best results and preserve evidence in your case. GA prosecuting attorneys do not have your best interests at heart and neither do judges. They are not watching out for your license or your criminal record. Call our marijuana attorneys today - whether your case is a DUI - drugs offense or just simple possession, we can help you.

About the Author

Richard Lawson

Richard S. Lawson is passionate about intoxicated driving defense. Unlike some attorneys, Mr. Lawson devotes 100% of his legal practice to helping people stand up for their rights against DUI charges. For more than 20 years, Mr. Lawson has dutifully fought for his clients' freedom, resolving more 4,900 impaired driving cases during the course of his career. Today, Mr. Lawson has developed a reputation as a skilled negotiator and continues to help clients by fighting to keep them out of jail.


There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment