According to the American Automobile Association, 41.4 million Americans will be hitting the road to get to their Fourth of July destinations. Transportation analytics show that the afternoon of Wednesday, July 3, and the evening of Friday, July 5 will be the absolute worst time to travel.
As a Georgia D.U.I. Defense Lawyer, I know that along with the heavy traffic this holiday weekend, police presence will also be heightened to make sure the roadways remain safe. In today's post, I will be discussing how you can remain vigilant on the road and avoid unnecessary police interactions.
Following too Closely in Georgia
In a case where a rear-end collision occurs, the default charge is following too closely. Under Georgia Law, O.C.G.A. 40-6-49 states that the driver of a motor vehicle shall not follow another vehicle more closely than is reasonable and prudent, having due regard for the speed of such vehicles and the traffic upon and the condition of the highway. Commonly, a following too closely ticket may serve as probable cause for officers to check if a driver has been drinking. Always use extreme caution and remember to leave ample room between vehicles – especially on a holiday weekend where traffic may cause opportunities for rear-end collisions.
Speeding in Georgia
Speeding is one of the most persistently charged traffic offenses in Georgia. The speed you were going will determine the effect speeding will have on your license. If you are caught driving less than 15 mph over the speed limit, a conviction for speeding will not result in any points on your license, and it will not be reported to the D.D.S. 15 to 18 mph over will result in 2 points added to your license, 12 to 23 mph over will add 3 points, 24 to 33 mph over will add 4 points, and 35+ mph over will add 6 points.
Reckless Driving in Georgia
Under Georgia law, O.C.G.A. 40-6-390 (a) defines reckless driving as any person who drives any vehicle in reckless disregard for the safety of persons or property commits the offense of reckless driving. If you are convicted of reckless driving, you will receive 4 points on your license. Reckless driving is considered a misdemeanor, and those convicted will receive a fine of up to $1,000 or up to 12 months in jail or both.
As a Georgia D.U.I. Defense Lawyer, I know that D.U.I.s and traffic offenses over the holiday weekend are easily preventable. However, if you receive a D.U.I. in Georgia, please don't hesitate to give us a call. Time may be of the essence. At the Law Offices of Richard S. Lawson, we take calls 24/7 – even on holidays.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment